Sunday, August 31, 2014

12TH CARAVAN TO CATCH A KILLER TO BEGIN 9/12 (CROSSING FINGERS!!)

ON 9/12/14 I HOPE TO START MY 12TH CARAVAN TO CATCH A KILLER TOUR. I AM THINKING OF RETURNING TO THE BIG CITIES I HAVE VISITED. ANY IDEAS OF "COME HERE"S I WILL GLADLY LISTEN TO!! SO FAR UP TO THE 11TH TOUR, THE CARAVANS HAVE HAD 126 REPORTERS SHARE OUR STORY TO HELP SEEK TIPS AND EDUCATE COMMUNITIES ABOUT THE NEED FOR LAW CHANGE. THE CARAVANS HAVE TRAVELED 100000 MILES ACROSS 46 STATES IN ALMOST 6 YEARS. (I am missing a few names)



11th CARAVAN TO CATCH A KILLER 8/19/13 --present 7) Lindsey Seavart NBC KARE Minneapolis/St. Paul 9/4/13 6) Nikki Junewicz ABC WBAY Green Bay WI 8/30 5) Becky Parker ABC WDAY Fargo ND 8/27/13 4) Tim McNicholas NBC Channel 5 Hastings Nebraska 8/21/13 7/1/13 to 7/30/13 3) CRIMEWIRE --Kim Koulton 7/30/2013 2) Dr. Laurie Roth Show (BlogTalk) 7/18/2013 1). JVM MOST WANTED Jane Valez Mitchell with Jon Leiberman- 6/27/2012

10th CARAVAN TO CATCH A KILLER 4/14/12 - PRESENT 9) Tucker Sargent Macon NBC 5/14/12 8) Jonathan Davis Augusta NBC26 5/8/12 7)Boston Globe Online (WECN story) 5/1/1 6) Frontpage WEB (WECN story) 4/30/12 5) Jack Thurston NECN Burlington VT 4/29/12 4) Caroline Cornish NBC-Portland, ME 4/24/12 3) Beth Germano CBS Boston 4/19-20/12 2) Jon Leiberman Crimeline New York 4/17/12 1) Horace Holmes ABC 7 Washington DC 4/14/12

9TH CARAVAN TO CATCH A KILLER- DEC 18 -PRESENT 1) Bofta Yimam FOX Memphis 12/19/11 2) Conroy Delouche CBS Knoxville, Tn. 12/21/11 3) Erin Barnett NBC/Fox Roanoke 12/21/11 4) Chris Stover Newsplex Charlottesville 12/22 5) CBS21 Harrisburg12/23 6) Greg Thompson FOX Raleigh 12/39/11

8TH CARAVAN TO CATCH A KILLER 7/24/11 TO 9/4/11 1) Taylor Viydo K2TV ABC Casper, Wy 7/24/11 2) Sue Olp Billings Gazette Billings MT 7/27/11 3) Melody Burns 1300 Talk Radio Albany NY 7/27/11 4) Jill Valley-Anchor KPAX CBS Missoula MT 7/29/11 5) Alex Rosier KHQ NBC Spokane WA 7/30/11 6) Eric Wilkinson KING5 NBC Seattle WA 8/2/11 7) Matthew Templeton KMTR16 NBC Eugene OR 8/5/11 8) Kay Recede KIEM 3 NBC Eureka CA 8/9/11 9) Nick Monaccelli NEWS10 ABC Sacramento 8/11/11 10) Chris Ciero/Brad Horn CBS2 Reno Nevada 8/14/11 11) Jennifer Auh ABC 6 Boise 8/17/11 12 Matt Vanderveer NBC 11 Grand Junction 8/19/11

7th CARAVAN TO CATCH A KILLER-PART 1 & 11 (11/5/10 to 12/7/10) 1) Jonas Rios ABC Amarillo 11/6/10 2) Antoinette Antonio NBC Albuquerque 11/8/10 3) Jared Fields Abilene Reporter-News 11/11/10 4) Jessica Garcia ABC News Abilene 11/12/10 5) Frank Gray Ft. Wayne Journal Gazette 12/5/10 6) Maggie Crane St. Louis KMOV 12/7/11

-6TH CARAVAN (3/26/10- 5/26/10) 12) Kali Nicole Lincoln NE ABC 5/5 (Car breakdown 4/24 thru 5/2 11) Sarah Platt Fox6 Milwaukee 4/24 10) Lambrini Lukidis ABC Grand Rapids 4/20 9) Alicia Brown Fox Toledo 4/18 8) Ron Regen Cleveland Channel 5 ABC 4/16 7) Michael Wooten Buffalo Channel 2 NBC 4/15 6) Maria Luby Albany, NY ABC 4/13/10 (3 part story aired 4/30) 5) Kathryn Reynolds Springfield, Mass ABC/Fox 4/7/10 4) Myranda Stephens Fox Baltimore 4/4/10 3) Sheila Parker WSAV NBC Savannah-- 3/29/10 2) Alysa Orange/WCTV CBS Tallahassee 3/26/10 1) Tristan Sanders WCTV CBS Tallahassee 3/25/10

5TH CARAVAN 6/30/09-7/7/09 6) Justice Interrupted http://www.wishtv.com/subindex/about_us/personalities/ 7/7 5) Ryan Kendall ABC Channel 36 Lexington 7/7 4) Jamie Weis NBC Channel 18 Lexington 7/7 3) Tory Duncan NBC Huntsville,Al 7/6 2) Cathleen Otoole ABC Channel 25 West Palm Beach 7/3 1) Beau Zimmer CBS Channel 10 Tampa/St. Pete 6/30

4th CARAVAN TO CATCH A KILLER-DEC08-JAN 2009 (family visit 12/27-1/22/09) (12)Chris Graczyk Woaitv NBC San Antonio christophergraczyk@woaitv.com 1/21 (11)Martina Valverde KDBC CBS El Paso mvalverde@kdbc.com 1/18 (10) Daniel Guerrilo UNI 26 (Spanish-speaking station) El Paso 1/18 (9)Lauren Burgoyne KOLD 13 CBS lburgoyne@kold.com 1/15 (8)April Madison KGUN9 ABC Tucson amadison@kgun9.com 1/15 (7)Delane Cleveland Fox 11 Tucson dcleveland@kmsb.com 1/13/09 (6)Omadelle Nelson CBS 5 Phoenix onelson@kpho.com 1/12/09 (5)William Porter Denver Post Denver wporter@denverpost.com 1/10/09 (4)Peggy Bunker FOX31 Denver melissa.mollet@kdvr.com 01/08/09 (3)Nicole Vandeputte Newsfirst 5/30 NBC Colorado Springs nvandeputte@koaa.com 01/05/09 (2)Paul Sigurdson Channel 4 NBC Albuquerque psigurdson@kob.com 12/30/08 (1)Megan Moore Channel 10 CBS Amarillo mmoore@newschannel10.com 12/26/08

3RD CARAVAN TO CATCH A KILLER MEDIA -- SEPT 2008 (16)Mia Fleming Fox 23 Tulsa, OK MFleming@fox23.com 10/04 (15)Kiedron Dodson NBC Tulsa,OK dotson@kjrh.com 10/4 (14)Chris Redford CBS Shreveport La credford@ktbs.com 10/3 (13)Anna Adair, Cyndi Nguyen GOOD MORNING NEW OLEANS cyndi@abc26.com 10/2 (12)Dustin Barnes Fox 40 News Jackson Miss. dustinbarnes@jxntv.com 9/30 (11)Jack Kuenzie Channel 10 NBC Columbia SC jkuenzie@wistv.com 9/24 (10)Tracy Amick Channel 5 Charleston CBS tamick@live5news.com 9/22 (9)Shawn Smentana Channel 4 Charleston ABC SSmetana@wciv.com 9/22 (8)Sharon Smith Channel 3 Charlotte CBS sharonsmith@wbtv.com 9/22 (7)Jummy Olabanji Channel 3 CBS of Norfolk jummy.olabanji@wtkr.com, 9/19, (6)Lauren Bercarich Local12 CBS Cincinnati, OH Lbercarich@wkrc.com 9/7/08 (5)Rebecca Rector WHAS 11 ABC Louisville, Ky rebecca.rector@whas11.com 9/6 (4)Steve Burgin WLKY 32 CBS Louisville, Ky sburgin@wlky.com 9/5/08 (3)John Chrisos News25 ABC Evansville, In. jchrisos@news25.us 9/4/08 (2)Woodruff, Latresha Woodruff Fox 16 Little Rock lwoodruff@fox16.com 09/02/08 (1)Cecillea Pond-Mayo Channel 4 NBC cpond-mayo@kark.com 09/01/08

2ND CARAVAN TO CATCH A KILLER MEDIA -- MAY 2008 17) Channel 9 Oklahoma City Mary Joseph 6/2/08 16) Lynn Kawano Fox 4 Dallas 6/1/08 lynn.kawano@foxtv.com 15)Ben Watson WMC 5 (NBC) Memphis 5/29/08 bwatson@wmcstations.com 14)Jennifer Johnson WSMV 4 (NBC) Nashville 5/28/08 jennifer.johnson@wsmv.com 13)05/26/08 Kristen Johnson WDEF 12 (CBS) Chattanooga KJohnson@wdef.com 12)Kim Fields WTVC 9 (ABC) Chattanooga 5/26/08 11)Amanda Rosseter WSBTV (ABC) Atlanta 5/24/08 amanda.rosseter@wsbtv.com 10)Paige Tucker WJBF (ABC) Augusta 5/19/08 ptucker@wjbf.com 9)Candace McCowan Fox Savannah 5/18/08 cmccowan@wjcl.com 8)Tristan Tully WSAV 3 (NBC) Savannah 5/18/08 ttully@wsav.com 7)Beau Zimmer Channel10 (CBS) Tampa5/11/08 BZimmer@tampabays10.com 6)Jessica Donofrio Local6 (CBS) Orlando 5/9/08 jdonofrio@local6.com 5)Blaine Tolison WCTV (CBS) Tallahassee 5/7/08blaine.tolison@wctv.com 4)Tiffany Craig WKRG 5 (CBS) Mobile 5/6/08 TCraig@wkrg.com 3)Krystal Allen WLOX 13 (ABC) Biloxi 5/4/08 kallan@wlox.com 2)Keitha Nelson WAFB (CBS) Baton Rouge 5/2/08 knelson@wafb.com 1)Jennifer Dodd KSAT (ABC) San Antonio 4/30/08 jdodd@ksat.com

1ST CARAVAN October 2007 Larry Hatterberg Channel 10 Wichita 11/10/07 larry.hatteberg@kake.com, Farah Fazal Channel 7 Omaha 11/8/07 ffazal@hearst.com, Dan Martin Channel 27 CBS Youngstown Ohio 11/4/07 dmartin@wkbn.com Glen McIntyre Channel 10/Columbus Ohio glenn.mcentyre@10tv.com, Anne Rubin Channel 5 ABC St. Louis arubin@ksdk.com (St. Louis) Oct 14

OKLAHOMA MEDIA CONTACTS--CRIME SCENE MEDIA /BACKGROUND STORIES (1)Lori Fulbright Channel 6 (CBS) Tulsa — lori.fullbright@newson6.net (2))Casey Roebuck Channel 2 (NBC) Tulsa roebuck@kjrh.com (3) Abbey Alford Fox23 Tulsa aalford@fox23.com (4) Nicole Marshall -- Tulsa World nicole.marshall@tulsaworld.com (5) Kim Jackson Channel 8 Tulsa (ABC) kjackson@ktul.com (6) Loren Farr Tulsa Community College Public Channel http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ehwAdXkRDbI April 2008

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

WALKIN WITH BRIT ON RT 66 TO DIMNISH RISK-MOTHER TO WALK 100+ MILES FROM DAUGHTER'S MURDER SITE TO CAPITOL

A am a mother on a mission of love trying, through law change, to protect other parents and family members from going through the never ending echo of loss that I have since Brittany was murdered. This walk is to publicize the need and have lawmakers, who vote against these laws, publically answer why they do not want to protect women and children

Description The tenth anniversary of Brittany Phillips (my daughter) murder/burial, 10/4/04, is just around the corner.......a decade since someone raped/suffocated her after he broke into her 2nd story apartment (next to the high school she graduated from) or was waiting for her to fall asleep. The birth of WALKIN WITH BRIT ON RT 66 occurred because at the turn of this decade, even though we have DNA from 2sources from the monster, and have compared it to 3000 regional suspects and half a million in CODIS, we have yet to match and suspect sample to our crime scene DNA sample. The WALK will start at the apartment complex where she was murdered and end at the OK Capitol to address OK lawmakers who've blocked our DNA at Arrest bill for 5 years. Each year behind closed doors (like 23 other States) they vote to protect violent criminals, yet allow women and children to live at risk. Women and children remain at risk because most violent predators will have arrests covering 10-20 years before they ever get convicted. Examples of these timelines of preventable crimes (crimes that would not occur had their DNA been taken at arrest) will be placed on lawmakers desks. . FOR FIVE YEARS Lawmakers pass laws behind closed doors, where they don't have to hear that the majority of crimes that need DNA to identify the attacker are the violent ones of which 90% of victims are women and 9% children. FOR FIVE YEARS LAWMAKERS HAVE VOTED IT IS OKAY FOR WOMEN AND CHILDREN TO LIVE AT RISK. THIS WALK WILL ASK THEM PUBLICALLY "WHY IS IT OKAY TO LET WOMEN AND CHILDREN TO LIVE AT RISK.

HISTORY OF BRITTANY'S MURDER AND THE CARAVAN TO CATCH A KILLER A decade since lead detective, Jeff Felton and post his retirement (still works on it), Eddie Majors, began the never tiring work keeping the case from turning cold but mystery remains unsolved.

Within this decade, 8 years ago LAMAR Advertising began a 4-year rotation of our billboard around sites in Tulsa..

Within this decade, since 2007, with the unbelievable gift from FELLARS and Midwest Wraps, of a WRAP for my RAV 4, in 2011, a WRAP for my Nissan Cube, the 1st CARAVAN TO CATCH A KILLER tour began. Now 11 tours completed in my pink/purple "wrapped" CUBE with pictures of Brittany embedded on the butterflied background (raped/suffocated Tulsa 9/27/04), CARAVAN TO CATCH A KILLER on all sides, a profile of her killer on the back.

Within this decade, my CARAVANs covered 100000 miles across 46 states as 126 reporters gifted us with stories about Brittany’s murder mystery, helped us us seek tips,, educate communities about laws that put women and children at risk of the same fate as Brit. They've shared Brittany’s story as ‘the girl next door.” Not because a grieving mother travelled thousands of self-funded miles on a misssion of love by herself but because they knew Brittany could be their daughter. They passionately shared how, when half the States refuse to take DNA at Arrest. they allow violent criminals to remain in our communities years with possibly multiple arrests without their DNA being identified. Sadly this puts all our mothers, daughters, loved ones at risk because the majority of the crimes needing DNA to solve are violent ones where 90 % of the victims are women, 9 % are children.

Within this decade through media stories and miles on my missions of love, I met community members, reporters, local law enforcement, DAs, lawmakers, other grieving parents, as well as thousands on highways. The thumbs up as people drove by or hugs at rest stops, gave me courage to carry on.

A decade since Brittany’s murder, since she was torn from my arms, from my life. My breath escapes me as I feel passed time. Even with my success of local news stories, the need intensifies with the story getting older. One time a year for my daughter who will never get older, limits who can hear our story, exposure that is 1/100000 of people national news might reach and I won't reach before I die.

A parent losing a child, has a cavern open in their heart. It beats in irregular mourning that creates a sense of future imploding, My CARAVANs, amid the never-ending loss, give me breath that calms the moaning, the ignitable beating of the heart.

Now, in a sadly similar pattern happening almost every year of this decade, chaos/cost hit my life and threaten to shut down the 12th CARAVAN, the Decade of Loss memorial and my “Walk with Brit on Rt 66; Lessen the risk,” Car problems (currently $1000) still ongoing. I may face $ 1000—4000 plumbing costs . The unethical practices of the home warranty company 1) delaying appointments for 4 weeks, 2) after a 15 minute appointment and taking my 75, 5 days later denies any coverage. This means I will have to buy a larger tankless water heater, have it rewired for shower and replacement of water pipe.

What more can a mother do when the only breath she has is in threat of being taken away. Now a decade, with no CARAVAN TO CATCH A KILLER tour and national news still ignores., our story has more chance to die. I know there is no reason but days like this I go"What have I done wrong,? I treat trauma clients now soldiers for almost 30 years. I try to save other dauhter's lives. I have even paid tolls forward for anyone behind me for the last 7 years............... I am tired.



General Information 1) Walk will start Sat 10/11 in Tulsa near Union High School & the apartment where she was killed 2) Walk will connect to Route 66 and will be followed through Bristow, Stround , Chandler, Luther to Edmond and then down to the Capitol 3) Goal is 20-30 miles a day 4) Media and public forum stops in cities along the way. 5) Needs--- a) VOLUNTEERS to drive my car behind me- I need volunteers to commit and not back out at last second. The event fails if a driver doesn't show. b) NEED INFORMATION IF ANYONE KNOWS ABOUT PERMITS c) Need sponsors--gas, water, publicity

Sunday, August 3, 2014

10 years......How can it be a decade

Within a few months, I face the 10th anniversary of Brittany's murder. Hopefully, the 12th CARAVAN TO CATCH A KILLER tour will begin mid September. Yet like 7 years out of the last 10, this year right before the anniversary and a CARAVAN, car problems and house pipe problems, may impac the funds to be used for the CARAVAN. Since 2007 I’ve completed 11 tours in my pink/purple "wrapped" CUBE with pictures of Brittany embedded on the butterflied background (raped/suffocated Tulsa 9/27/04), CARAVAN TO CATCH A KILLER on all sides and profile of killer on the back.


As I face a decade since her murder, behind me are 100000 miles travelled across 46 states where 126 reporters gifted us with stories about Brittany’s murder mystery, helping us ask for tips and, more so, to educate communities about laws that keep women and children at risk of the same fate as Brittany.


A decade since someone raped and suffocated her after he either broke in to her 2nd story apartment (next to the high school she graduated from )or was waiting for her to fall asleep. A decade since the crime scene DNA started being compared to suspect DNA, now over 3000 Oklahoma suspects and probably half a million in CODIS.


A decade since the lead detective, Jeff Felton and post his retirement (still works on it), Eddie Majors, began their never tiring work that still keeps the case from turning cold. Even so, the mystery remains unsolved.


  Within this decade, 8 years ago LAMAR Advertising began the 4-year rotation around sites in Tulsa, of their donated billboard. Within this decade, 7 years ago, reporters across the US began to tell Brittany’s story as ‘the girl next door.” Not because I, the grieving mother, was travelling thousands of miles, self funded and by myself but because reporters understood her murder could happen to anyone as long as there are at least 24 States that refuse to take DNA at Arrest. They helped me raise community awareness regarding risks of waiting to take DNA until conviction and how this allows dangerous people to live within our communities until convicted and how the majority of the crimes that need DNA to help solve, are the violent crimes where 90 % of the victims are women and 9 % are children. Within this decade, 7 years ago (10/7/07), through unbelievable gifts from FELLARS and Midwest Wraps, of a WRAP for my RAV 4 and in 2011, a WRAP for my Nissan Cube,. the 1st CARAVAN TO CATHC A KILLER tour began. Now, these self-funded missions of love have now visited visit 115 cities across 46 states. and allowed me to meet community members, reporters, local law enforcement, DAs, lawmakers, as well as thousands met on highways in-between. The thumbs up as people drove by or hugs at rest stops, each experience gave me courage to carry on. A decade since Brittany’s murder, since she was abruptly taken from my life.


My breath escapes me at the passed time. Even with my success of local news stories, my now, one time a year CARAVAN has only given us exposure to 1/100000 of people national news might reach.


, When a parent loses a child, a cavern opens inside their heart that beats in irregular mourning. To quiet a sense of imploding, my CARAVANs give me breath beyond the never-ending loss. What more can a mother do..